Agra, a city in northern India, and Chengdu, capital of southwestern China's Sichuan province, signed an Agreement for the Establishment of Friendly Cooperation Relations on Thursday.

The two cities will tap cooperation potential in cultural areas and tourist exchanges. The agreement also involves education, E-government, economic and trade cooperation.

In 2013, the Indian city of Bangalore and Chengdu signed the Chengdu-Bangalore, India, Sister Cities Relations Establishment Agreement, becoming the first pair of sister cities between China and India.

Last May, Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi visited China and the two countries released the Joint Statement between the People's Republic of China and the Republic of India, officially announcing the establishment of an Indian consulate-general in Chengdu. It is the fourth in China after Hong Kong, Shanghai and Guangzhou.

Following the in-depth implementation of full-region opening-up, 16 countries have already obtained approval to open diplomatic missions in Chengdu. At present, the number of Chengdu sister cities has risen to 32, and that of friendship cooperation cities increased to 39.

Editor: Zeng Yunheng